Memorial for victims of National Socialism

“Remember – Commemorate – Learn”

This is the motto under which a site commemorating victims of National Socialism has been opened in the former Turenne Barracks in Neustadt an der Weinstrasse. The HORNBACH Group, which has owned the barracks property – now known as Quartier Hornbach – since 2001, was aware that this circumstance required a special approach.

The barracks were built by the occupying French forces in 1920. After their withdrawal, the site was used by the National Socialists as an “early concentration camp”. From March to June 1933, around 500 men from 80 communities in the Pfalz region were arrested to prevent any kind of resistance from arising in the period following Hitler’s accession to power.

To ensure that these events are not forgotten, HORNBACH has made the barracks’ former prison available to the Memorial Association as a memorial site and has provided financial support for its development.

Albrecht Hornbach, Chairman of the Board of Management of HORNBACH Management AG, is involved in the Board of Curators of the Memorial Association founded in 2009. Dr. Ursula Dauth, formerly Press Spokesperson of the Group, is an active member of its Board.

This site is the only early concentration camp of its kind still visible in the state of Rheinland-Pfalz. The memorial is therefore of significance and well worth a visit.

Get more information on: www.gedenkstaette-neustadt.de

Related Topics

Share price


  • Hornbach Group increases sales and earnings

  • Voting Rights Announcement: Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA // Axxion S.A.



Trading Statement for the 2017/2018 Financial Year
Trading Statement for the 2017/2018 Financial Year


RSS Order service Newsletter

Media center

dcsimg
stage

Gedenkstätte für NS-Opfer

„Erinnern – gedenken – lernen“

Unter diesem Motto entstand eine Gedenkstätte für Opfer des Nationalsozialismus in der ehemaligen Turenne-Kaserne in Neustadt an der Weinstraße. Die HORNBACH-Gruppe, die seit 2001 Eigentümer dieses Kasernengeländes ist – dem heutigen Quartier Hornbach -, war sich bewusst, dass dieser Umstand eines besonderen Umgangs bedarf.

Diese 1920 von den Franzosen als Besatzungsmacht gebaute Kaserne wurde, nach deren Abzug, von den Nationalsozialisten als „frühes Konzentrationslager“ genutzt. Von März bis Juni 1933 wurden hier etwa 500 Männer aus 80 Gemeinden der Pfalz inhaftiert, um jegliche Form des Widerstands nach Hitlers Machtergreifung im Keim zu ersticken.

Damit diese Vergangenheit nicht in Vergessenheit gerät, hat HORNBACH das ehemalige Gefängnis der Kaserne, dem Förderverein als Gedenkstätte zur Verfügung gestellt und deren Ausbau finanziell gefördert.

Der Vorstandsvorsitzende der HORNBACH Management AG, Albrecht Hornbach, engagiert sich im Kuratorium des 2009 gegründeten Fördervereins. Die ehemalige Konzernpressesprecherin Dr. Ursula Dauth ist aktives Mitglied im Vorstand.

Da diese Einrichtung das einzige noch sichtbare frühe Konzentrationslager seiner Art in Rheinland-Pfalz ist, ist diese Gedenkstätte eine Besonderheit und lohnt einen Besuch.

Nähere Informationen zur Gedenkstätte für NS-Opfer erhalten Sie auf deren Homepage: www.gedenkstätte-neustadt.de

Verwandte Themen

Aktienkurs

News

  • ProjektSchau: Werkstatt einrichten

  • Halles erste Adresse für alle Projekte in Haus und Garten

Kontakt

Kalender

HORNBACH Holding
Mitteilung 3. Quartal 2017/2018 zum 30. November 2017
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Mitteilung 3. Quartal 2017/2018 zum 30. November 2017

Mediaservices

RSS Bestellservice Newsletter

Mediathek