dcsimg
stage

Objectives and Growth Opportunities of the HORNBACH Group

We aim to continually expand HORNBACH’s position in the European do-it-yourself (DIY) market by means of organic growth. Our sales and profitability are to be sustainably increased by expanding our internationally successful retail format. This involves focusing on the strategic enhancement of our concept and expanding our store network at locations offering above-average growth potential in Germany and abroad.

Our sustainable growth strategy focuses at all times on the project concept. This results in pricing, product range and service policies that benefit our customers. The foundation for generating this added value is provided by our homogenous store network of DIY megastores with garden centers, our crosschannel strategy, our efficient logistics and IT processes, and our focus on organic international growth. By differentiating itself this way, HORNBACH has been able to outperform its sector.

HORNBACH’s absolute focus is on project customers. On the one hand, these are home improvement enthusiasts and professional customers wishing to implement extensive renovation and construction projects under their own steam in their houses, apartments or gardens (do-it-yourself). On the other hand, they also include customers wishing to select their products themselves, but then have all of the work involved in the project, including all services, performed by a competent partner (do-it-for-me). All of the company’s activities are tailored to these target groups.

HORNBACH thus offers its customers a reliably permanent low price policy. We are convinced that we are better able to retain customers at HORNBACH in the long term by offering and guaranteeing the best market price on a permanent basis. In particular, our main target group of project customers, who often undertake large-scale renovation work, needs to be able to budget in the long term. This is not possible with temporary discount campaigns.

Our customers benefit from a broad and deep product range stocked in sufficiently large quantities and meeting high quality standards. The average product range stocked by HORNBACH stores encompasses around 50,000 articles in the five following divisions: Hardware/Electrical, Paint/Wallpaper/Flooring, Construction Materials/Timber/Prefabricated Components, Sanitary/Tiles, and Garden. Numerous additional articles are available for ordering.

Furthermore, we also offer project-related services. These include home improvement demonstrations at stores that are intended to motivate customers to do it themselves, and special project evenings for women. These measures are backed up by the promotion of specialist skills on the part of store personnel aimed at achieving a further increase in product expertise and advisory competence, and thus in customer satisfaction. Our DIY megastores with garden centers are also increasingly of interest to professional customers. Generous opening hours, the stocking of large quantities, the rapid handling of purchases at our drive-in stores and builders’ merchant centers, and the uncomplicated acceptance of residual volumes no longer required make HORNBACH an attractive alternative to traditional specialist retail or wholesale procurement sources.

Implementing this concept to the benefit of our customers requires a high-performing infrastructure.

HORNBACH has decades of experience in operating DIY megastores with garden centers in major regional catchment areas. Its portfolio of locations in Germany and abroad is highly homogenous. Most of the Group's stores have sales areas in excess of 10,000 m². This enables HORNBACH to benefit from economies of scale in its operations and conceptual store enhancement measures, as well as in its group logistics. We rely not only on our stationary retail business, but are dovetailing this with an ever more extensive HORNBACH online store in Germany and abroad. The guiding principle – HORNBACH should offer customers all the channels they need to implement their projects.

HORNBACH is committed to organic growth. We will continue to track down opportunities in our expansion across Europe in future as well. In the densely occupied German DIY market, we are relying on selective growth in attractive catchment areas. Here, we can draw on our structural advantages and benefits of scale, especially our high surface productivity together with the largest average store size in the market. In our expansion, we are focusing on countries outside Germany. Due to their lower degree of market saturation in the DIY megastore and garden center segment, most other European regions harbor above-average growth opportunities compared with Germany.

Related Topics

Share price

News

  • Voting Rights Announcement: Hornbach Holding AG & Co. KGaA // Prudential plc

  • Ad-hoc announcement: Board of Management resolves share buyback for employee share program

Contact

Calendar

HORNBACH Holding
Half-Year Financial Report 2017/2018 as of August 31, 2017
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Half-Year Financial Report 2017/2018 as of August 31, 2017

Mediaservices

RSS Order service Newsletter

Media center

dcsimg
stage

Ziele und Wachstumschancen der HORNBACH-Gruppe

Unser Ziel ist es, die Marktposition von HORNBACH im europäischen Do-it-yourself-Markt durch organisches Wachstum kontinuierlich auszubauen. Umsatz und Profitabilität sollen durch die Expansion eines international erfolgreichen Handelsformats nachhaltig gesteigert werden. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei die strategische Weiterentwicklung unseres Konzepts und der Ausbau unseres Filialnetzes an Standorten mit überdurchschnittlichem Wachstumspotenzial im In- und Ausland.

Unsere nachhaltige Wachstumsstrategie konzentriert sich stets auf den Projektgedanken. Daraus ergibt sich eine Preis- Sortiments- und Servicepolitik von der schließlich der Kunde profitiert. Die Basis für diesen Mehrwert bilden das homogene Filialnetz der großflächigen Bau- und Gartenmärkte und die Crosschannel-Strategie, effiziente Logistik- und IT-Prozesse sowie die Fokussierung auf organisches internationales Wachstum. Als Folge dieser Differenzierung, entwickelt sich HORNBACH besser als die Branche.

Bei HORNBACH steht der Projektkunde im Mittelpunkt. Das sind einerseits leidenschaftliche Heimwerker und professionelle Kunden, die in Eigenregie umfangreiche Renovierungs- und Bauvorhaben im Haus, in der Wohnung oder im Garten verwirklichen (Do-it-yourself). Das sind andererseits Kunden, die ihre Produkte selbst auswählen, die komplette Abwicklung ihres Projekts einschließlich aller Dienstleistungen jedoch einem leistungsfähigen Partner anvertrauen (Do-it-for-me). Auf diese Zielgruppen sind alle Aktivitäten des Unternehmens ausgerichtet.

So bietet HORNBACH seinen Kunden eine verlässliche Dauertiefpreispolitik: Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass wir Kunden auf lange Sicht besser an HORNBACH binden können, wenn wir diesen dauerhaft den besten Marktpreis bieten und garantieren. Gerade unsere Hauptzielgruppe der Projektkunden, die oft größere Renovierungsarbeiten durchführen, will langfristig kalkulieren. Mit zeitlich befristeten Rabattaktionen ist dies nicht möglich.

Der Kunde profitiert von einem breiten und tiefen Sortiment in ausreichend großen Mengen und anspruchsvoller Qualität. Die Produktpalette der HORNBACH-Filialen umfasst im Durchschnitt rund 50.000 vorrätige Artikel aus den fünf Warenbereichen Eisenwaren/Elektro, Farben/Tapeten/Bodenbeläge, Baustoffe/Holz/Baufertigteile, Sanitär/Fliesen sowie Garten. Daneben gibt es eine Vielzahl an Bestellartikeln.

Überdies bieten wir projektbezogene Serviceleistungen an. Dazu zählen unter anderem Heimwerkervorführungen in den Märkten, die zum Selbermachen animieren sollen, oder spezielle Frauenprojektabende. Unterstützt werden diese Maßnahmen durch die fachliche Förderung des Marktpersonals mit dem Ziel, das Produkt-Know-how sowie die Beratungskompetenz und damit die Kundenzufriedenheit weiter zu erhöhen. Zunehmend interessanter werden unsere großen Bau- und Gartenmärkte auch für professionelle Kunden. Dank großzügiger Öffnungszeiten, der Bevorratung auch großer Mengen und der schnellen Abwicklung in unseren Drive-in-Märkten bzw. Baustoffzentren oder der unbürokratischen Rücknahme von Restmengen ist HORNBACH eine attraktive Alternative zu den traditionellen Bezugsquellen des Facheinzelhandels oder Großhandels.

Die kundenseitige Umsetzung dieses Konzepts erfordert eine leistungsfähige Infrastruktur.

HORNBACH hat eine jahrzehntelange Erfahrung im Betreiben von großflächigen Bau- und Gartenmärkten in großen regionalen Einzugsgebieten. Das Standortportfolio im In- und Ausland ist sehr homogen. Die meisten Märkte im Konzern haben Verkaufsflächen von mehr als 10.000 qm. Dadurch profitiert HORNBACH von Größenvorteilen (Economies of Scale) im Betrieb und der konzeptionellen Weiterentwicklung der Märkte sowie in der Konzernlogistik. Dabei setzen wir nicht nur auf das stationäre Einzelhandelsgeschäft, sondern verzahnen dieses mit einem immer umfangreicheren HORNBACH-Onlineshop im In- und Ausland. Der Leitgedanke dahinter: Der Kunde findet bei HORNBACH alle Kanäle, über die er sein Projekt umsetzen kann.

HORNBACH steht für organisches Wachstum. Auch in Zukunft werden wir unsere Chancen in der europaweiten Expansion suchen. Im dicht besetzten deutschen DIY-Markt setzen wir auf selektives Wachstum in attraktiven Einzugsgebieten. Hier können wir unsere Struktur- und Größenvorteile – insbesondere die hohe Flächenproduktivität in Verbindung mit der höchsten durchschnittlichen Filialgröße des Wettbewerbs – in die Waagschale werfen. Den Schwerpunkt unserer Expansion setzen wir außerhalb Deutschlands. In den meisten Regionen des übrigen Europas gibt es aufgrund der im Vergleich zum Inland geringeren Marktsättigung im Segment der großflächigen Bau- und Gartenmärkte überdurchschnittliche Wachstumschancen.

Verwandte Themen

Aktienkurs

News

  • Du kennst deine Grenzen erst, wenn du über sie hinausgewachsen bist!

  • Den Weg freimachen für die Standortentwicklung

Kontakt

Kalender

HORNBACH Holding
Halbjahresfinanzbericht 2017/2018 zum 31. August 2017
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Halbjahresfinanzbericht 2017/2018 zum 31. August 2017

Mediaservices

RSS Bestellservice Newsletter

Mediathek