dcsimg
stage

Market position of the HORNBACH Group

Via HORNBACH Baumarkt AG, its largest and most important subsidiary, the HORNBACH Group operated 155 DIY megastores with garden centers in nine European countries as of February 28, 2017. With a market volume of around € 44 billion (gross sales in 2016), Germany is Europe’s largest DIY market.

Ranked by absolute net sales of DIY retail players, HORNBACH Baumarkt AG thus held 5th position in Europe and 3rd position in Germany at the balance sheet date on February 28, 2017.

The crucial statistic, however, is that HORNBACH is by far the top performer among German DIY companies in terms of productivity, and that both for the “sales per store” and for the “sales per square meter” key figures.

HORNBACH has continually expanded its market position in recent years. As a percentage of total sales at all German DIY and garden stores in 2016 (€ 22 billion), HORNBACH’s market share amounted to 11.1 %.

We have nevertheless always made it clear that we are not interested in investing in additional market share at all costs and thus diluting the quality of our business model. We rather accord the greatest priority to generating sustainably earnings growth. Potential HORNBACH locations have to meet strict criteria. Among other factors, they must be excellently positioned and have a specific minimum size to enable us to implement our concept on our own terms. Above all, they have to meet challenging sales targets to ensure that they are economically viable on a sustainable basis.

Related Topics

Share price

News

  • Ad-hoc announcement: First quarter significantly ahead of previous year – full-year forecast for 2017/2018 nevertheless unchanged (2)

  • Ad-hoc announcement: First quarter significantly ahead of previous year – full-year forecast for 2017/2018 nevertheless unchanged (1)

Contact

Calendar

HORNBACH Holding
Financial Update: 1st Quarter of 2017/2018 as of May 31, 2017
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Financial Update: 1st Quarter of 2017/2018 as of May 31, 2017

Mediaservices

RSS Order service Newsletter

Media center

dcsimg
stage

Marktposition der HORNBACH-Gruppe

Die HORNBACH-Gruppe betreibt durch deren größte und wichtigste Beteiligungsgesellschaft, der HORNBACH Baumarkt AG, zum Stichtag 28. Februar 2017, 155 großflächige Bau- und Gartenmärkte in neun europäischen Ländern. Deutschland ist dabei, gemessen an einem Marktvolumen von rund 44 Milliarden Euro (Kalenderjahr 2016, Brutto-Umsätze) der größte Do-it-yourself-Markt Europas.

Betrachtet man die absoluten Netto-Umsätze der einzelnen DIY-Einzelhandelsunternehmen, so liegt die HORNBACH Baumarkt AG in Europa zum Bilanzstichtag 28. Februar 2017 auf Platz 5 und in Deutschland auf Platz 3.

Das Entscheidende dabei ist allerdings, dass HORNBACH gemessen an der Produktivität, sowohl bei der Kennzahl „Umsatz je Markt“ als auch bei „Umsatz je qm Fläche“ mit deutlichem Abstand die Nr. 1 unter den deutschen DIY-Anbietern ist.

HORNBACH baute in den letzten Jahren seine Marktposition kontinuierlich aus. In Bezug auf die Gesamtumsätze aller deutschen Bau- und Gartenmärkte im Jahr 2016 (22 Mrd. Euro) lag unser Marktanteil bei 11,1 %.

Unser Ziel ist es, die Marktposition von HORNBACH im europäischen Do-it-yourself-Markt durch organisches Wachstum kontinuierlich auszubauen. Nichts desto trotz haben wir stets betont, dass wir nicht um jeden Preis in weitere Marktanteile investieren und die Qualität unseres Geschäftsmodells verwässern. Wir legen stattdessen allergrößten Wert auf nachhaltiges Ertragswachstum. Potenzielle HORNBACH-Standorte müssen strenge Entscheidungskriterien erfüllen. Sie benötigen unter anderem eine exzellente Lage, und eine bestimmte Mindestgröße, damit wir unser Konzept nach unseren Vorstellungen umsetzen können. Und sie müssen vor allem anspruchsvolle Umsatzziele erreichen, damit sie sich dauerhaft rechnen.

Verwandte Themen

Aktienkurs

News

  • Du kennst deine Grenzen erst, wenn du über sie hinausgewachsen bist!

  • Den Weg freimachen für die Standortentwicklung

Kontakt

Kalender

HORNBACH Holding
Halbjahresfinanzbericht 2017/2018 zum 31. August 2017
HORNBACH Baumarkt
Halbjahresfinanzbericht 2017/2018 zum 31. August 2017

Mediaservices

RSS Bestellservice Newsletter

Mediathek